S11 Creating Videos for Flipped Teaching and Various Instructional Purposes

The flipped youtube video created by me:

http://ed.ted.com/on/2593nn7G

TED video

I am going to teach my students present perfect tense (PPT) in the coming chapter. The flipped youtube video I have created was about how to form PPT and when we should use PPT.

The instructional video I created:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/q8ybvtogdmt88bu/Write%20a%20caption.mp4?dl=0

Screenomatic 2Screenomatic 1

I have created a narrated instructional video by using Screencast-o-matic.The video teaches my students how to write the captions of their family photos by using the key structure they learnt in the recent chapter.

Flipped youtube video and the instructional video are useful tools to promote students’ self-learning. Flipped teaching helps students prepare for what they are going to learn in the lesson. By watching the flipped youtube video about PPT before the lesson, students have the general idea of what PPT is and it is easier for them to follow the what the teacher is going to teach during the lesson. It makes the lesson more effective and students will be more willing to answer teachers’ questions as they already have the general understanding of the concept. The instructional video about writing a caption helps consolidate students’ knowledge when students view it after the lesson.

Leave a comment